Strawberry Goat Cheese and Walnut Salad

Here in the southeast, we’ve been blessed with rain.  Not just a dumping of it now and then, but whole days of soaking rain followed by warm sun-shiny days.  For a gardener, this is the perfect combination for growing plants.  Tomato plants are already covered in small, green tomatoes.  Salad greens are perfect.  I wish I could say that the ones I used for this salad were mine, but they weren’t. I cut my first crop of micro greens and spinach the day after I made this salad.  I love it so much, I made it again for lunch the next day.

Deliciousness aside, the colors of this salad begs for you to invite your girlfriends over for a lunch or dinner with a glass of wine and a slice of cheesecake following – because we girls know where to spend our calories!

The greens I used for this salad are, however, freakin’ amazing.  They’re Organic Girl Super Greens.  There’s all kinds of crazy greens in there. I get them at my local Whole Foods.

Most people (including my husband, who decided not to try this salad because of this) see strawberries and pink dressing and think “sweet”.  But, the dressing here is a strawberry vinaigrette and it’s very tangy.  To me, the smooth goat cheese and strawberries are perfect for balancing out the tang.

Strawberry Goat Cheese and Walnut Salad

Printable recipe

a big handful of salad greens (don’t you DARE use iceberg lettuce!)
cut up fresh strawberries
toasted chopped walnuts
crumbled goat cheese

Strawberry Vinaigrette

2 parts fresh strawberry puree
1 part champagne vinegar
1 part olive oil
fresh cracked pepper
kosher salt

Whisk it all together in a bowl and drizzle over your salad.

Make it a meal with: seasoned grilled chicken and a baked potato

Share your thoughts and opinions!

