Island Chicken

There is a shift each year that happens as the temperatures begin to warm up.  This shift takes us outdoors and brings fresh vegetables and grilled foods to our table.

Grilling has been stereotyped as a “manly” way to cook, though at our house I am the master of the grill.  I’m happy to say that I’m recovering from a bad case of “kill it on the grill”.  I may always been a well-done kind of girl, but I’ve learned that well-done can be done well.  Chicken was the worst for me.  At one time, burnt and dry was the only preparation method I knew for chicken.  Fortunately, I’m a numbers girl.  I found cooking times to be a very helpful resource for me.  Just give this gal a rule and I’ll follow it!  For a chicken breast, 8-10 minutes per side.  Translated, that means flip it ONCE, friend. Flip. it. once.

Chicken for dinner can become very ho-hum and boring.  This recipe is the cure for all boring chicken.  I have never actually been to a tropical island before, but I imagine that the flavors of coconut, lime, cumin, coriander and curry would fit in quite nicely.

I personally promise that you’ll take a bite of this be forced to make some sound that resembles “Mmmm…”.

Here’s the cast of characters that helps make that happen:

Island Chicken (from here)

Printable recipe

– INGREDIENTS –

  • 2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 3 tbsp oil
  • zest of 1 lime
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • pinch cayenne
  • 1 small fresh hot chili, such as Thai or Serrano, minced (optional, I didn’t include this)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • Fresh limes, cut into wedges

– PREPARATION –

1.  Mix together marinade: oil, lime zest, cumin, coriander, soy sauce salt, sugar, curry power, coconut milk and cayenne.
2.  Add chicken and marinade to a large bowl or ziploc bag and chill in the refrigerator for up to two hours
3.  When you are ready to cook the chicken, remove the breasts from the marinade.  Pour the marinade into a small saucepan and bring to a rolling boil.  Boil continuously for at least 2 minutes, stirring occasionally so it doesn’t burn.
4.  Cook the chicken on the grill or in a grill pan coated in oil.  Cook 8-10 minutes per side over medium heat or flame.
5.  Sprinkle with fresh lime juice and cilantro. Serve with sauce on the side.  Try not to drink it.
Share your thoughts and opinions!

