DIY Chipotle Chicken Bowls

“You bring the guacamole,” is what I get when there’s a party coming up.  I consider this a real compliment to my guacamole-making skills.  When asked how I make it, I tell them that it’s a family secret and it can’t be revealed.  I’d hate to be rendered unnecessary.

About 5 years ago, I read a book that changed the way I approached eating: You The Owner’s Manual (this is a PDF of the ENTIRE book for free. Nice.).  Since then, there have been a lot of “You” books published on the tails of the original, but to me you just can’t beat the solid information about how to take care of each system in your body and the delicious recipes that were included in the back.  Though it’s not actually a cookbook, I keep my copy nestled right in the middle of all my cookbooks.  “My” guacamole recipe comes from this book.

The Guac is perfect for a party, but when I make it home, there has to be a meal built around it.  When I think of delicious guacamole and great Mexican fare, I think of Chipotle.  They know they’ve got their guacamole-making down by the $1.75 they charge per plop of it atop your Chicken Bowl, but I almost always go for it.  The combinations they bring together are perfect, but the guacamole is the most complicated thing on there and I already had that figured out.

I set out to replicate the Chicken Bowl at home.

The components are:

  • cilantro/lime rice
  • lime/pepper chicken
  • guacamole
  • Roasted Chili-Corn Salsa (or your salsa of choice)
  • seasoned black beans
  • sour cream
  • cheese
  • chopped romaine lettuce
Let’s break em’ down.
The rice is pretty simple.  Steam rice, mix in finely chopped cilantro, the juice of a lime, a drizzle of canola oil and some kosher salt.
The chicken flavors are tricky.  I went with lime, salt, pepper, cumin, garlic and a little cayenne.  Brush the chicken with a little oil, sprinkle on the dry seasonings and grill to perfection.  Let it rest about 5 minutes post-grill then slice it thinly.
The beans are easy.  You can go from dry or open a can.  Add in salt and cumin and heat them up.
The guacamole and chili-corn salsa need recipes.  Here they are.

“Famous” Guacamole

-INGREDIENTS-

3 ripe hass avocados, peeled and seeded
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 roma tomato, finely chopped
1/4 c white onion, finely chopped
1 jalepeno, seeded and finely chopped
juice from one lime
a generous amount of kosher salt (whatever you think you need, double it – go for around 2 teaspoons)

-PREPARATION-

1.  Ready your avocados by cutting them in half (because of the seed, slide your knife in halfway and rotate around the seed), removing the seed with a large knife and scooping out the good stuff with an ice cream scoop.
2.  Use a fork, masher or hand blender to smash up the avocado.
3.  Add the remaining ingredients and stir to combine.

The final result is scrumptious.  I had to include this photo, because that’s just how we roll while dinner is being made at my house.  I celebrated the day my youngest son could start eating puffs.

And then there’s the Roasted Chili-Corn Salsa.  Grilling the pepper gives it a wonderful, smokey taste and put that with the bright flavor of cilantro and sweetness of the corn and what you have, my friend, is a little party in your mouth.

Almost-Famous Roasted Chili-Corn Salsa (from Food Network Magazine’s “Copy That”)

Printable recipe

-INGREDIENTS-

1/2 small pablano chile pepper, seeded
3 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
Kosher salt
1 cup fresh (approx. 2 ears) or frozen corn kernals, thawed
1 small jalepeno pepper, seeded and chopped
2 T chopped fresh cilantro
2 T chopped red onion
2 T fresh lime juice
1/2 t sugar

-PREPARATION-

1. Preheat your grill (or grill pan) to medium-high.  Brush your pablano with 1 teaspoon of olive oil and grill it, skin side down, until charred but still firm (about 5 minutes).  Let it cool then finely chop.

2. Cook your corn.

3.  Mix the corn, pablano, jalepeno, cilantro and red onion in a bowl.  Stir in the 2 teaspoons olive oil, lime juice, sugar and salt.

Look at the gorgeous results!  This is one of the tastiest and certainly the most gorgeous part of this meal.

Assemble your Chicken Bowl prep line and enjoy your dinner!  As you can see, we are much more casual in our presentation than Chipotle.

One thought on “DIY Chipotle Chicken Bowls

  1. Pingback: September 18, 2011 – White Chicken Chile, Martha-Style, $2.43 « Frugal Hausfrau's Blog

Share your thoughts and opinions!

