Ham and Cheese Quinoa Muffins

Quinoa (pronounced keen-wa, not keen-oh-a, please) and I are trying to become close friends.  I understand that it has some excellent health benefits and should have a place in my diet.  Up until a few weeks ago, I had not ever purchased or prepared these curly little gems.  I began timidly with a scoop from the bulk bins, feeling a little non-committal about the whole thing.  Then, after I saw how easy, versatile and delicious it was, I went all in with a bag from the Cost.co.

My first experience with quinoa came in the form of these awesome ham, cheese and zucchini muffins for dinner.  I tell you no lie, even my ultra-picky four year old ate them and loved them.

Ham and Cheese Quinoa Muffins (adaped from Iowa Girl Eats)

Printable Version

makes about 15 muffins

- INGREDIENTS -

2 cups cooked quinoa (about 3/4 cup uncooked)
2 eggs
2 egg whites
1 cup zucchini, shredded
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1/2 cup diced ham
1 teaspoon dried parsley
2 Tablespoons parmesan cheese
2 green onions, sliced
salt & pepper

- PREPARATION -

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1.  Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl.

2.  Spray the muffin pan liberally with nonstick spray.  These little guys can be stubborn.

3.  Cook for 25-30 minutes, or until the edges are golden brown.

4.  Let cool for 5 minutes and pop them out of the pan.

Though I made these for dinner, they were also delicious warmed up the next morning for dinner.  Enjoy!

Share your thoughts and opinions!

